How I Asked the World’s Awesomest Woman to Marry Me

When you have an amazing girlfriend, you have to have an amazing way to propose.  There are two versions of my story: what I planned, and what actually happened.

THE PLAN:
Tell Judith to meet me at a specific Metro station.  Surprise her by taking her to a pie restaurant.  Yes! a PIE restaurant.  It’s called Four & Twenty Blackbirds, and it is amazing.  Bring her whatever slice of pie she ordered on a bright red plate.  When she finishes the pie, the middle of the plate says, “Will you marry me?”  I had already scoped out the place, eaten there to look at the size/type of their plates, and I was going to go there before I met her at the Metro station.  I was going to give them the plate and they would serve her pie on it.  It was all so amazing.

…but.

THE REALITY:
They are closed on Mondays.  I found that out about 2 hours before I was supposed to meet her.

WHAT REALLY HAPPENED:
I told her to meet me at the library because she loves it and there are many places to eat around there.  On the way to the library I hatched Plan 2.0.  I found this little coffee shop that sold cupcakes that were just the perfect size to cover the center of the plate.  I would have her grab a seat for us, put the cupcake on the plate, and serve it.  Brilliant!

At the library, I ask, “You wanna grab coffee?”  Judith says, “No, I’m hungry.  Let’s get dinner.”  She picks Zaytoons, a Middle Eastern place.

Plan 3!  She orders baba ghanouj as an appetizer and when it comes, I see that the plate is the perfect size!  Right before she grabs some pita, I say, “Why is your hand all dirty?”  She’s a teacher and has ink on her hands.  “Well aren’t you going to wash your hands first?”

While she is in the bathroom, I grab the Proposal Plate from my backpack and place it under the baba ghanouj plate.  My bright red plate is about half an inch wider, so it gives the white appetizer plate a nice border.

…which she never notices.

After giving her the birthday presents I made, I say, “And I made you a plate.” (These plates are one of the crafts I’ve made for her in the past, so she knew what I meant.)  Nervously, I stare at the red-rimmed baba ghanouj plate.  After a few moments, she says, “Oh, is that it?”  She picks up the appetizer plate and reads my message.

She said yes.  🙂

2 responses to “How I Asked the World’s Awesomest Woman to Marry Me

Leave a Reply

