Power Tools and Yarn. That’s My Life.

Power tools and yarn.  Somehow these things describe me well.  Finally, my powers combined because I needed a yarn winder.  That’s right, the Power Winder!

 

That is a knitting needle inserted into the chuck of a cordless driver.  I then taped the yarn tail to the end farthest away from the driver and taped again close to the driver.

 

Then away I drived.  Drove.  Droved. Then I used the driver to wind the yarn, working it front to back with my free hand.

 

I didn’t have a lot of this yarn to wind, so here is the finished “ball.”

 

And again:

Kerrs, you should recognize that ottoman.

 

It worked like a charm!  ………the second time.  Remember how Picture 3 had a little hand saying, ‘Remember this’?  Well, that’s because as I wound the yarn, I went OVER the bottom taped end.  Do NOT wind over the tape! is the lesson I learned from my first attempt.  What happens is, when you try to remove the new skein by sliding it off the needle (which you have removed from the cordless driver), you get a yarn corn dog.

and it WON’T come off the needle.  I had to unwind it by hand, and start again.  This time I made sure to stay away from the taped ends.

 

Another word of caution: the driver’s chuck left indentions on my knitting needle.  I have not knitted since I started crocheting in 2007, so I didn’t really care.  Hey, might as well put my needles to some use somehow, right?  However, a dowel rod would work just as well.  Or a chopstick, or a pencil… anything round that fits into the chuck, really.  Here’s what happened:

There are 3 of those indentions.

Well, I hope you enjoyed this and maybe it will save you from spending $40 on a yarn winder like it did me.  Feel free to leave comments or questions.

2 responses to “Power Tools and Yarn. That’s My Life.

Leave a Reply

