Two Crochet Dudes

Today I finally got to meet The Crochet Dude, aka, Drew Emborsky.  As a male crocheter, he’s served as something of an inspiration to me and I was excited to meet him.  He was the instructor at today’s Etsy Labs, where he taught us to make “yarn” out of scrap fabric and then crochet it into a simple trivet.  He admitted to being as pleased as I was to be in the same room with another crochet dude.  Here is my final product, which stitched up SOOO quickly!

The hanging loop was my idea, and that goes back to one of the things I love about crochet: I figured out a way to stitch it in on my own.  I “get” crochet, and that is what makes it so much fun for me.

Also, make sure to check out The Crochet Dude’s blog, which includes a picture of Drew and Vickie Howell!  Two of my favorite yarners… yarn people… yarnies?

On a side note, while at Etsy, I was asked by two different people about my store, which I had to admit had no products in it currently.  Hopefully this will serve as a wake-up call, reminding me I can’t sell anything if I’m not making anything.

4 responses to “Two Crochet Dudes

  • Sara

    Welcome to the wonderful land of crochet. Drew was one of the first ‘dudes’ I knew who crocheted. Then I started seeing them all over the place. You might find CrochetDad on Etsy, Crafty Andy is another one I happened to find via Youtube and then of course my fav guy crocheters the Krochet Kids.

    Thanks for sharing your day and I’m glad to have found your blog.

    • curmade

      Thanks! I’ve been crocheting for over 4 years now and this was my first chance to meet a crochet “celebrity!” Needless to say, that it was another guy made it even cooler. Thanks for the recommendations, too. Can’t wait to start reading your blog as well. I love “meeting” new crafters.

  • Wonderball! « Cur Made

    […] that I’m comfortable working in the round (as this trivet shows), I thought I’d set my sights on something more difficult: shapes! Last night, in preparation […]

  • Finally doing something new! « Cur Made

    […] you remember my post about making a trivet out of strips of fabric, you’ll realize a rug is essentially a giant trivet.  For your feet.  I’m not sure […]

Leave a Reply

